If you remove an archetype from a design, the design reverts to manual control. All existing exhibits are left intact. If you want to delete them, you must explicitly destroy them.
Note that this is very different from explicitly assigning an archetype that has no blueprints to a design. In that case, OrbitKit will destroy all existing exhibits for that design.